Tift County Board of Health

The primary role of the Tift County Board of Health is to assess the needs of the community, provide policy guidance, and exercise general oversight of Tift County Health Department, while leaving the day to day management and operational control of the health department to the District Health Director.

Each board of health is comprised of seven community members who have been appointed to serve on the board. Four positions are appointed by the county’s chief executive officer: 1 – county’s chief executive officer or designee; 2 – licensed physician actively practicing in the county; 3 – consumer or advocate for consumers of health services; and 4 – consumer who will represent the needy, underprivileged or elderly. The fifth position is held by the county’s superintendent of schools or designee. The last two positions are appointed by the governing authority of the largest municipality of the county: 1 – city’s chief executive officer or designee; and 2 – consumer or licensed nurse interested in promoting public health.

The following community members make up the Lowndes County Board of Health.

Mark J. Eanes, MD, MBA – District Health Director
Raymond Moreno, MD (Chairman) – Physician
Mayor Julie Smith (Secretary) – CEO of Largest City
Filiberto Hernandez – Consumer Advocate
Natalie Gore – County School Superintendent
Melissa Hughes – CEO of County
Tina Moody – Consumer or Licensed Nurse
Celietha Curry Davis – Advocate for Needy, Underprivileged or Elderly