South Health District

Brooks County Board of Health

The primary role of the Brooks County Board of Health is to assess the needs of the community, provide policy guidance, and exercise general oversight of Brooks County Health Department, while leaving the day to day management and operational control of the health department to the District Health Director.

Each board of health is comprised of seven community members who have been appointed to serve on the board. Four positions are appointed by the county’s chief executive officer: 1 – county’s chief executive officer or designee; 2 – licensed physician actively practicing in the county; 3 – consumer or advocate for consumers of health services; and 4 – consumer who will represent the needy, underprivileged or elderly. The fifth position is held by the county’s superintendent of schools or designee. The last two positions are appointed by the governing authority of the largest municipality of the county: 1 – city’s chief executive officer or designee; and 2 – consumer or licensed nurse interested in promoting public health.

The following community members make up the Brooks County Board of Health.

William R. Grow, MD, FACP – District Health Director
Telia Cunningham, PharmD – Consumer Advocate Appointed by County Commission (Chairman)
Ricky J. Rowe, DO – Physician Appointed by County Commission (Vice Chair)
Vickie Reed, EdD – Superintendent, Brooks County Schools
Shelly Kirkendoll – Advocate for Needy, Underprivileged or Elderly Appointed by County Commission (Secretary)
James Maxwell – Brooks County
Rose Marie Horne, MD – Consumer Appointed by City
Nancy Dennard, EdD – CEO of Largest City

Notices, Minutes and Agendas

Draft agendas and minutes are available for Brooks County Board of Health meetings.