South Health District

Berrien County Board of Health

The primary role of the Berrien County Board of Health is to assess the needs of the community, provide policy guidance, and exercise general oversight of Berrien County Health Department, while leaving the day to day management and operational control of the health department to the District Health Director.

Each board of health is comprised of seven community members who have been appointed to serve on the board. Four positions are appointed by the county’s chief executive officer: 1 – county’s chief executive officer or designee; 2 – licensed physician actively practicing in the county; 3 – consumer or advocate for consumers of health services; and 4 – consumer who will represent the needy, underprivileged or elderly. The fifth position is held by the county’s superintendent of schools or designee. The last two positions are appointed by the governing authority of the largest municipality of the county: 1 – city’s chief executive officer or designee; and 2 – consumer or licensed nurse interested in promoting public health.

The following community members make up the Berrien County Board of Health.

William R. Grow, MD, FACP – District Health Director
Jimmy Parker – Berrien County Designee
Mayor Taylor Scarbrough – City Designee
Cassandra McCoy – Consumer Advocate Appointed by City
Christina Allen – Advocate for Needy, Underprivileged or Elderly Appointed by County Commission
William Nash, MD – Physician Appointed by County Commission (Chairman)
Deree Nix – Consumer Advocate Appointed by County Commission
Robin Marcrum – Superintendent, Berrien County Schools

Notices, Minutes and Agenda

View minutes and draft agendas for Berrien County Board of Health meetings.