South Health District

Ben Hill County Board of Health

The primary role of the Ben Hill County Board of Health is to assess the needs of the community, provide policy guidance, and exercise general oversight of Ben Hill County Health Department, while leaving the day to day management and operational control of the health department to the District Health Director.

Each board of health is comprised of seven community members who have been appointed to serve on the board. Four positions are appointed by the county’s chief executive officer: 1 – county’s chief executive officer or designee; 2 – licensed physician actively practicing in the county; 3 – consumer or advocate for consumers of health services; and 4 – consumer who will represent the needy, underprivileged or elderly. The fifth position is held by the county’s superintendent of schools or designee. The last two positions are appointed by the governing authority of the largest municipality of the county: 1 – city’s chief executive officer or designee; and 2 – consumer or licensed nurse interested in promoting public health.

The following community members make up the Ben Hill County Board of Health.

William R. Grow, MD, FACP – District Health Director
Jim Turner – Advocate for Needy, Underprivileged or Elderly Appointed by County Commission (Chairman)
O.D. Netter – Ben Hill County Designee
Warren Manley – Consumer or Licensed Nurse Appointed by City
Thelma Graham – Consumer Advocate Appointed by County Commission (Secretary)
Heath Parrish, FNP-C – Appointed by County Commission
Mark Massee – City Designee (Vice Chair)
Dr. J. Shawn Haralson – Superintendent, Ben Hill County Schools

Notices, Minutes and Agendas

View minutes and draft agendas for Ben Hill County Board of Health meetings.